Prayer for This New Year

2 Peter 3:9  The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.

Heavenly Father, you have given this world another year. We did not deserve it. Much of the last year we spent ignoring, violating, and ridiculing your word. Your own people did not keep your commandments and reflect your holiness. We did not proclaim you to all the people groups under heaven. We did not thank you wholeheartedly for last year. We did not pray dependently for this one. I did not.

Your mercy is new every morning. You do not mark our iniquities, for no one could stand before you. You delight to forgive our sins and heal our wounds. While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  You are the Giver, and you are the Gift, though sometimes lost in our pile of Christmas presents. This new year is a gift, not a reward.

I hesitate to dedicate anything, to promise anything to you. I know my frailty. I long to dedicate and promise to you. I know your grace. A year is too rich for me to sacrifice. I do not even have two turtledoves. Give me my next breath; I will give it back to you. Then my next. Empower me breath by breath to live for you. When I cease to offer my breath to you, grant me no more.

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Published in: on January 1, 2011 at 10:02 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sacredpage.wordpress.com/2011/01/01/prayer-for-this-new-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

