Song of My Soul – A Morning Prayer

“And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!” ~ Isa. 6:5, English Standard Version

Father in heaven, creator of my soul and body, by your breath I have breath. I can speak because you spoke me into existence. My lips shape sounds because you first uttered forth your eternal Word. But I am impure, by sin both original and volitional fallen from the plan of your creation. My speech discords with your harmony; I am out of step with your rhythm. My words land flat or shrill on those I love. I am altogether out of tune. Have mercy. Give grace.

Jesus, Messiah, to whom else shall I go? Only you have the words of life. Only you give counterpoint to the violent noise of this world. You resolve every broken chord, but not by force. You entered into the driving rhythm and were broken by it. It could not dampen you. After a dramatic pause, you transposed its key. Bestow on me your righteous melody.

Spirit, overflow of love and joy, be the wind in my lungs. Correct my erring notes. Carry my tones. May they enter soft and sweet on troubled souls, climactic and triumphant upon the weary, elegant and alluring upon the disillusioned. Meld my aria into your choir of souls, your church in every place that sings the tragedy and victory of the lamb. Sustain me forever. Amen.

Published in: on November 3, 2011 at 8:40 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sacredpage.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/song-of-my-soul-a-morning-prayer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

